CMS User Permissions

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Features
  4. CMS User Permissions

CMS user accounts allow you to give clients or team members their own logins so they can edit their websites. These accounts are white labelled with no reference to Without Code. For step by step instructions on adding clients and team members, read our CMS User Accounts doc.

You can decide the level of access that each individual user has, defining what they can and can’t change. As each user account is defined on a website level, you can offer different permissions to one client on various sites.

Note: this feature is only available to Pro members.

 

Selecting Permissions

You can define permissions for your CMS user during or after the account creation process. Simply select “More options” on the relevant site.

 

Here you can add your users or edit their permissions. To edit, select the gear icon and click “Update Permissions.”

 

Select the appropriate permissions for each individual user.

 

Full or Limited Editing Permissions

You can decide between full or limited editing permissions for your user.

If you want to give your user complete control over content and design on the site, select the “Full Editing” option. Assigning this option gives users the ability to add and adjust widgets, alter the settings and global design, as well as change pages/popups. This option essentially gives them access to everything accept the ability to publish the site for the first time.

If you only want to give your user the ability to edit the content of your site, select “Limited Editing.” This option allows users to edit text and gives access to some widget content editors, but will ensure they can’t alter the structure of your site.

 

Dependent Permissions

The editing option that you select (Full or Limited) defines what further permissions you will be able to select. These are automatically selected/de-selected depending on the editing capabilities you assign.

If you give your user Limited Editing, they will not have access to:

  • Personalization
  • SEO Settings
  • Developer Mode

 

Permission Details

Limited Editing

As described above, this option allows users to edit text and gives access to some widget content editors.

Full Editing

As described above, this option allows users to add and adjust widgets, alter the settings and global design, as well as change pages/popups.

Republish Site

Although users cannot publish a site for the first time, you can select this option to allow them to republish a site so new changes can be pushed live.

Blog

This permission allows users to create a blog for the site, as well as add and manage blog posts for an existing blog. The user can enter the blog tab and select the relevant option to create a new blog/post, or make edits.

 

Visit our Blog doc for more details on this feature.

Ecommerce

This permission gives users the ability to make any changes to the online store, including adding products and updating payment methods. The user can enter the store tab, select “Manage Store,” and make changes as needed.

 

Visit our Ecommerce docs section for more details on this feature.

Site Analytics

This permission gives users access to site stats, including page views and site visits. The user can either select the info icon and click “Stats” for a quick overview.

 

Or they can visit the Stats tab from their dashboard for a comprehensive overview.

 

View our Site Stats doc for more details on this feature.

Personalization

This option gives users the ability to add new personalization rules or manage existing ones. The user can enter the Personalize tab and either select the “+ New Rule” to create a new personalization rule or select the gear icon to make changes to an existing one.

 

View our Personalization Rules doc for more details on this feature.

SEO Settings

This setting allows users to add SEO settings – page titles, descriptions, and keywords – for pages, as well as the entire site. The user can enter the Settings tab and select “SEO” to make changes to the site SEO.

 

Alternatively, they can select the Pages tab, click on the gear icon for any individual page and click “SEO” to update the page SEO.

 

View our SEO Settings doc for more details on this feature.

Developer Mode

This option gives users access to view and edit the HTML and CMS for the entire site. The user can click on the “</>” icon in the top menu to access this the dev mode panel.

 

View our Developer Mode doc for more details on this feature.

CMS User Training

To share details on the CMS user accounts with your clients without showing any Without Code branding, visit our White Label Resources. You can send your clients and employees unbranded training videos to walk them through the process.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Join Now